Bangladesh to field first...

Dhaka, Saturday   16 October 2021

1st T20 of BAN vs NZ

Bangladesh to field first

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 03:41 PM, 1 September 2021   Updated: 03:56 PM, 1 September 2021

File Photo

File Photo

New Zealand has won the toss and invited Bangladesh to field first at the 1st T20 of the 5-match T20 series held at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The match will be aired at 4 pm on Wednesday and will be broadcasted by T- Sports.

It is known that New Zealand is far ahead of Bangladesh in T20 format. The Kiwis have won all of their last 10 matches against the Tigers in this short format of cricket. 

However, the recent form of Tigers can give hope to win against New Zealand. Mahmudullah Riyad’s team defeated Australia 4-1 in a five-match T20 series at home this month. Besides, some star cricketers of New Zealand did not come to the Bangladesh tour due to IPL. 

With these considerations, Bangladesh is undoubtedly getting the title of ‘favorite’ in the series. In the last series, Bangladesh’s reliable batsman Mushfiqur Rahim could not play due to the tough bio-bubble policy by Australia. National team star opener Liton Das was also not in the T20 series against Aussies.

Mushfiqur-Liton combination against New Zealand has strengthened the batting line-up of the Bangladesh team. There are also experienced all-rounders like Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad. Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain, one of the best fast bowlers in the country, have been in good form in recent times. Mahedi Hasan is also on the spin.

Bangladesh XI: 

Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (capt), Nurul Hasan (wk), Afif Hossain,  Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin,  Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

New Zealand XI: 

Rachin Ravindra, Tom Blundell, Will Young, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham (capt&wk), Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Doug Bracewell, Blair Tickner, Jacob Duffy, Ajaz Patel.