Bangladesh to bowl first against Sri Lanka...

Dhaka, Tuesday   15 June 2021

Bangladesh to bowl first against Sri Lanka

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 10:38 AM, 29 April 2021   Updated: 10:48 AM, 29 April 2021



Kandy’s first test pitch got demerit points, however, there will be a balance in batting and bowling in the second test. Both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka want to end the series with a victory. As such, the two teams are facing off today at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Sri Lankan captain Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss, decided to bat first and invited the Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque to the field.

Lahiru Kumara and Dilshan Madushanka were ruled out with injuries and added Lakshan Sandakan and Chamika Karunaratne to the Sri Lanka squad. However, none of them are in the XI. The hosts are playing extra spinners with Wanindu Hasaranga. Praveen Jayawickrama, a 22-year-old left-arm spinner who is making his debut.  

Bangladesh team has brought a change in this match. Shoriful Islam is making his debut by replacing fast bowler Ebadot Hossain.

Bangladesh XI:

Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Abu Jayed.

Sri Lanka XI:

Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Ramesh Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama.