Bangladesh to bat first against PNG...

Dhaka, Monday   06 December 2021

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Bangladesh to bat first against PNG

 Sports Correspodent

 Published: 03:54 PM, 21 October 2021   Updated: 04:00 PM, 21 October 2021

Bangladesh cricket team; File Photo

Bangladesh cricket team; File Photo

Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss and elected to bat first against Papua New Guinea in the 9th match of Group B at Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Oman on Thursday.

The match will be started at 4:00 pm and will be broadcast by T Sports and Gazi TV.

Bangladesh will have to win this match if they want to go to Super 12. Bangladesh lost to Scotland in their first match of the tournament. Even if they defeat Oman in the next match, the Super 12 round for the Tigers is still not sure. Even after winning this match, they have to look at the last match of Scotland vs Oman.

Newcomers Papua New Guinea (PNG), on the other hand, have lost both their matches. Although they lost the first match, they fought hard in the second match. If they win today’s match, PNG will have a slim chance to go to Super 12, however, they need to win the match by a huge margin.

Meanwhile, batting first, Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad said they want to put on a good total although his team hasn’t played their A-game yet. They are playing the same XI, he added.

PNG captain Assad Vala said there will be two changes. Hiri Hiri is coming in, Tony Ura is out and Damien Ravu will be palyed instead of Nosaina Pakana.


Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (capt), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

Papua New Guinea: Lega Siaka, Assad Vala (capt), Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Simon Atai, Hiri Hiri, Norman Vanua, Kiplin Doriga (wk), Chad Soper, Damien Ravu, Kabua Morea.