Bangladesh lose openers Soumya, Naim...

Dhaka, Friday   17 September 2021

Bangladesh lose openers Soumya, Naim

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:17 PM, 4 August 2021  

Bangladesh lose openers Soumya, Naim

Bangladesh lose openers Soumya, Naim

Bangladesh lost their openers, Soumya Sarkar (0 off 2) and Naim Sheikh (9 off 12) as they chasing 122 in the second T20I of the five-match series over Australia at Mirpur.

Chasing the target Bangladesh lost opener Soumya Sarkar in the second ball of the third over. Mitchell starc removed Soumya for naught. In the very next over Hazlewood bowled Naim Sheikh and Bangladesh lost their second wickets to 21. 

Till this report, Bangladesh were 29/2 after 5 overs. Shakib Al Hasan and Mahedi Hasan were in the batting scoring 14 and 5 respectively.

Earlier, Pacer Mustafizur Rahman bagged 3 wickets for 23 runs against Australia in the second T20I of the five-match series at Mirpur today. Riding on his bowling, Bangladesh managed to restrict Australia for 121/7 in 20 overs. 

Australia captain Matthew Wade won the toss and chose to bat first at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Mitchell Marsh was the best batsman for the Aussie scoring 45 off 42 with five fours. Moises Henriques 30 off 25 was the second-highest run-scorer for Australia. Josh Philippe 10, Alex Carey 11, and Mitchell Starc 13 were the other batters who got double figures.

Spinner Mahedi Hasan struck in his second over and innings' third over to bring the first breakthrough for Bangladesh removing Alex Carey for 11 and Australia lost their first wicket on 13.

Cutter master Mustafizur Rahman took the wicket of Josh Philippe (10 off 15) to bring the second breakthrough for Bangladesh. 

Mitchell Marsh and Moises Henriques shared 57 runs between them in the third wickets stand. Which was the team's highest partnership for Australia. The stand broke when Shakib Al Hasan bowled Moises Henriques for 30 and Australia lost their third wickets for 88 runs. 

Mitchell Marsh was the best batsman for Australia who was dismissed by Shoriful Islam scoring 45 off 42 balls. This is the second consecutive time he was dismissed for 45. 

When skipper Matthew Wade was bowled by Mustafizur Rahman Australia were 103 in 17.3 overs. Fizz also removed Ashton Agar in the very next ball to create a hat-trick chance but it did not happen. 

Ashton Turner fell to Shoriful Isalm in the second ball of the 19th over and Australia lost their 7th wickets to 106. They were able to post 121 for 7 wickets as Mitchell Starc made 13 off 10.

For Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets for 23 in his 4 overs. Shoriful Islam bagged 2 for 27 while Shakib and Mahedi Hasan took one wicket apiece.