Bangladesh clinch T20I series over Zimbabwe...

Dhaka, Tuesday   28 September 2021

Bangladesh clinch T20I series over Zimbabwe

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:10 PM, 25 July 2021   Updated: 08:18 PM, 25 July 2021

Bangladesh clinch T20I series over Zimbabwe

Bangladesh clinch T20I series over Zimbabwe

Bangladesh clinched the T20I series 2-1 over host Zimbabwe beating them by 5 wickets in the third and final match at Harare today. Soumya Sarkar's career-best 68 off 48, Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad's 34 off 28 and Shamim Hossain's 15-ball 31 helped Bangladesh to win the match keeping 2 balls in hand. It is the second-highest T20I run chase for Bangladesh. Their highest run chase was 215 over Sri Lanka in the Nidahas Trophy.

In reply to Zimbabwe's 193/5, Bangladesh scored 194/5 in 49.2 over. Chasing the target Bangladesh lost opener Naim Sheikh on 20. Before being dismissed to Muzarabani Naim scored only 3 off 7. 

Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan put 50 runs for the second wickets stand which kept Bangladesh in chase. Before fell to Jongwe Shakib scored 13-ball 25.

Soumya Sarkar who got fifty in the first match and became the man of the match today also reached 50 off 40. Before being dismissed to Luke Jongwe Soumya made career-best 68 off 48. His innings were adorned with nine fours and one six. 

Skipper Mahmudullah and Afif Hossain put 17 runs for the fourth wickets stand to keep the momentum in favor of Bangladesh. But Afif fell to Masakadza scoring 14 off 5 balls.

Mahmudullah and young Shamim Hossain shared 19-ball 37 between them for the fifth wickets stand before the former fell to Muzarabani scoring 34 off 28. 

Shamim Hossain 31 off 15 and Nurul Hasan 1 off 1 left the field after completing victory for Bangladesh with four balls remaining.

For Zimbabwe, Blessing Muzaraban and Luke Jongwe took 2 wickets each while Wellington Masakadza took one wicket. 

Earlier, Zimbabwe posted 193 runs for five wickets in the series-deciding third T20I against Bangladesh. Opener  Wesley Madhevere's 54 off 36 and Regis Chakabva's 22-ball 48 and Ryan Burl's 31 off 15 helped the host to post the huge total at Harare today.

After winning the toss Zimbabwe decided to bat first at Harare Sports Club. For the third game in a row Zimbabwe have won the toss and decided to bat first.

Openers Tadiwanashe Marumani(w) ‍and Wesley Madhevere gave flying start for the host posting 63 runs before the former bowled by Mohammad Saifuddin for 27 off 20.

Wesley Madhevere, the last match hero shared 59 runs with Chakabva in the second wickets stand before the latter went out by Soumya Sarkar for 22-ball 48. Zimbabwe lost their second wicket on 122 in 11.1 over. Soumya also removed Zimbabwe skipper Sikandar Raza for naught in the fifth ball of the same over. 

Wesley Madhevere and Dion Myers added 21 runs in the fourth wickets stand. But the former was dismissed by Shakib Al Hasan for 54 off 36. He hit four sixes to score the runs.

Dion Myers scored important 23 runs before being dismissed by Shoriful Islam. Endwise, Ryan Burl's 15-ball 31 helped Zimbabwe to post 193/5 in 20 overs.

For Bangladesh, Soumya Sarkar  2 for 19 was the best bowler while Shakib finished 24/1, Shoriful Islam 27/1 and Saifuddin 50/1.