Bangladesh beat Australia by 5 wickets in 2nd T20I...

Dhaka, Monday   20 September 2021

Bangladesh beat Australia by 5 wickets in 2nd T20I

 Sports Desk

 Published: 09:34 PM, 4 August 2021   Updated: 09:24 AM, 5 August 2021

Bangladesh beat Australia by 5 wickets in 2nd T20I

Bangladesh beat Australia by 5 wickets in 2nd T20I

Pacer Mustafizur Rahman claimed three wickets as Bangladesh beat Australia by five wickets in the second Twenty20 internationals on Wednesday in Dhaka to take 2-0 lead the five-match series. Shoriful Islam took two wickets to play key roles in their team's second T20I win over Australia in six attempts.

After winning the toss Australia chose to bat and scored 121/7 in 20 overs. In reply, Bangladesh chased down the target in 18.4 overs losing five wickets.

Chasing the target Bangladesh lost opener Soumya Sarkar in the second ball of the third over. Mitchell starc removed Soumya for naught. In the very next over Hazlewood bowled Naim Sheikh and Bangladesh lost their second wickets to 21. 

Shakib Al Hasan and Mahedi Hasan put 37 runs in the third wickets stand before the former went out for 26 off 17 to Tye.

Skipper Mahmudullah (0) also went out shortly after the departure of Shakib Al Hasan and Bangladesh lsot their 4th wickets to 59 in 9.3 overs. 

Mahedi Hasan who got several lives finally went out to Zampa scoring 23 off 24 and Bangladesh lost their fifth wickets to 67 in 11.2 overs. 

But Afif Hossain and Nurul Hasan Sohan's unbroken 56-run stand for the sixth wickets paved the way for Bangladesh to come out as winner keeping 09 balls in hand.

For Australia, pacer Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa and Andrew Tye took one wicket apiece.

Earlier, Pacer Mustafizur Rahman bagged 3 wickets for 23 runs against Australia in the second T20I of the five-match series at Mirpur today. Riding on his bowling, Bangladesh managed to restrict Australia for 121/7 in 20 overs. 

Australia captain Matthew Wade won the toss and chose to bat first at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Mitchell Marsh was the best batsman for the Aussie scoring 45 off 42 with five fours. Moises Henriques 30 off 25 was the second-highest run-scorer for Australia. Josh Philippe 10, Alex Carey 11, and Mitchell Starc 13 were the other batters who got double figures.

Spinner Mahedi Hasan struck in his second over and innings' third over to bring the first breakthrough for Bangladesh removing Alex Carey for 11 and Australia lost their first wicket on 13.

Cutter master Mustafizur Rahman took the wicket of Josh Philippe (10 off 15) to bring the second breakthrough for Bangladesh. 

Mitchell Marsh and Moises Henriques shared 57 runs between them in the third wickets stand. Which was the team's highest partnership for Australia. The stand broke when Shakib Al Hasan bowled Moises Henriques for 30 and Australia lost their third wickets for 88 runs. 

Mitchell Marsh was the best batsman for Australia who was dismissed by Shoriful Islam scoring 45 off 42 balls. This is the second consecutive time he was dismissed for 45. 

When skipper Matthew Wade was bowled by Mustafizur Rahman Australia were 103 in 17.3 overs. Fizz also removed Ashton Agar in the very next ball to create a hat-trick chance but it did not happen. 

Ashton Turner fell to Shoriful Isalm in the second ball of the 19th over and Australia lost their 7th wickets to 106. They were able to post 121 for 7 wickets as Mitchell Starc made 13 off 10.

For Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets for 23 in his 4 overs. Shoriful Islam bagged 2 for 27 while Shakib and Mahedi Hasan took one wicket apiece.

Brief Score: Australia 121/7 in 20 over, Mitchell Marsh 45 and Moises Henriques 30 off 25; Mustafizur Rahman 23/3, Shoriful Islam 27/2.

Bangladesh 123/5 in 18.4 overs. Afif Hossain scored 37 off 31 not out, Nurul Hasan 22 off 21, Shakib 26 off 17 and Mahedi 23 off 24.