Bangladesh bans travel from Europe, 12 other countries...

Dhaka, Saturday   17 April 2021

Bangladesh bans travel from Europe, 12 other countries

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 11:16 AM, 1 April 2021   Updated: 02:57 PM, 1 April 2021

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh imposed a ban on travel from European nations, except the United Kingdom (UK), and 12 other countries in a bid to curb the spike of coronavirus cases as the country on Wednesday recorded 5,358 new cases, taking the national tally to 6,11,295. 

The travel restrictions from the countries will remain effective from April 3 to April 18. 

The Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) made the announcement in a circular on Thursday.  

Apart from the European nations, the other 12 countries are - Turkey, Qatar, Lebanon, Chile, Peru, Jordan, Kuwait, South Africa, Argentina, Brazil, Bahrain and Uruguay.  

Airlines operating scheduled passenger flights from all those countries will be allowed to carry only transit passengers to Bangladesh subject to the conditions that the passengers remain confined inside the terminal building only, the circular said.

The CAAB said it came up with the decision after reviewing the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic situation throughout the country and across the world.