Bangabandhu T20 Cup kicks off today...

Dhaka, Monday   18 January 2021

Bangabandhu T20 Cup kicks off today

 Sports Desk

 Published: 09:44 AM, 24 November 2020  



Cricketer frenzy hits the fever pitch once again with the much-anticipated Bangabandhu T20 Cup, a five-team tournament, which rolls onto the ground today.

Beximco Dhaka will take on Minister Group Rajshahi in the first match of the day while Fortune Barishal will face off Gemcon Khulna in the second game. All of the matches of the tournament will be played at the ‘Home of Cricket’ Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The first match will be at 1:30 pm while the second game will start at 6:30 PM. State-run Bangladesh Television and the country’s new sports channel T Sports will broadcast the matches live.

Walton, the country’s leading electrical, electronic goods and automobiles manufacturing company, became the title sponsor of the Bangabandhu T20 Cup.

The official name of the tournament is ‘Bangabandhu T20 Cup Sponsored by Walton.’ The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will also celebrate the birth centenary of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman with the high voltage tournament.

The event is part of the continuing initiatives of the BCB, aiming at a gradual resumption of normal cricketing activities which have been disrupted since March this year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The BCB is expecting that the Bangabandhu T20 Cup will be helpful in fulfilling their aspiration to bring back international cricket in the country.

The tournament will be held in a bio-secure environment to keep the players, officials and other stakeholders in a safe zone. The five teams and around 300 people including 80 cricketers will stay in bio-bubble till the end of the tournament. By managing such a huge number of people in a bio-bubble would be a tougher task but BCB hoped they could organize it successfully to give a message to the rest of the world.

The BCB earlier successfully organized BCB President’s Cup a one-day format tournament that included around 70 people in the bio-bubble.

Bangabandhu T20 Cup teams:

Beximco Dhaka:

Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Nasum Ahmed, Naim Sheikh, Naeem Hasan, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Akbar Ali, Yasir Ali, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Muktar Ali, Abu Haider Rony, Shafiqul Islam, Rabiul Islam Robi, Pinak Ghosh.  

Minister Group Rajshahi:

Mohammad Saifuddin, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Ashraful, Arafat Sunny, Ebadat Hossain, Fazle Rabbi, Roni Talukar, Anisul Haque Emon, Rezaur Rahman, Rakibul Hasan, Jaker, Mukidul Islam Mugdo, Sanjamul Islam. 

Gemcon Khulna:

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Al Amin, Enamul Haque Bijoy, Shamim Patuari, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shubhagato Hum, Shahidul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Zakir Hasan, Nazmul Islam Apu, Salman Hossain, Jahurul Islam Omi. 

Gazi Group Chattogram:

Mustafizur Rahman, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Shariful Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Taizul Islam, Shamsur Rahman Shuvo, Nahidul Islam, Saikat Ali, Muminul Haque, Rakibul Hasan, Sanjit Saha, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mehdi Hasan. 

Fortune Barishal:

Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Irfan Shukkur, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehdi Hasan Miraz, Abu Zayed Rahi, Touhid Hridoy, Tanvir Islam, Sumon Khan, Saif Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Parvez Hossain Emon, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Abu Sayem, Suhrawardy Shuvo.