Fizz, Shariful outshine as Chattogram seals hat trick victory...

Dhaka, Sunday   17 January 2021

Bangabandhu T20 Cup

Fizz, Shariful outshine as Chattogram seals hat trick victory

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 06:35 PM, 30 November 2020   Updated: 06:35 PM, 30 November 2020

Photo: BCB

Photo: BCB

Gazi Group Chattogram has won their third match in a row in Bangabandhu T20 Cup. Mohammad Mithun’s team defeated Fortune Barishal by 10 runs. 

Batting first, Fortune Barishal scored 151 runs in 20 overs by 7 wickets. In reply, Fortune Barishal’s innings stopped at 141 runs, the team collected 141 runs after losing 8 wickets.  

Tamim Iqbal and Mehidy Hasan Miraz came down to chase the runs for Barishal. Both of them played cautiously from the beginning. After Miraz returned with a personal 13 runs, Barishal’s run rate slowed down a lot. Parvez Hossain Emon scored 11 runs off 16 balls. Besides, captain Tamim played an innings of 32 runs off 32 balls.

Barishal could not get out of the pressure to chase the run. In the end, Towhid Hridoy and Sumon Khan played two cameo innings but it only reduced the margin of defeat. 

Shariful Islam and Mustafizur Rahman have taken three wickets each.

Earlier, Barishal captain Tamim decided to field first after winning the toss at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium the capital on Monday. Barishal returned Soumya to the dressing room at the beginning of the innings. 

Chattogram captain Mohammad Mithun could not do much with the bat. The Barishal bowlers got the wickets at regular intervals. Only Liton Das played the highest innings of 35 runs for the team. Besides, Mosaddek Hossain scored 28, Shykat Ali unbeaten 27 and Shamsur Rahman 26 runs.

Abu Jayed Rahi took 2 wickets for Barishal. Besides, Sumon Khan, Taskin Ahmed, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Mehidy Hasan Miraz took one wicket each.

Gazi Group Chattogram: 151/7 in 20 overs (Liton 35, Mosaddek 28, Shykat 27; Abu Jayed 2/42, Rabbi 1/23, Mehidy 1/25)

Fortune Barishal: 141/9 in 20 overs (Tamim 32, Afif 24, Sumon 15; Mustafizur 3/23, Shoriful 3/27, Mosaddek 1/17)

Result: Gazi Group Chattogram won the match by 10 runs.