Bangabandhu T20 Cup: Dhaka elected to field in 1st match...

Dhaka, Thursday   28 January 2021

Bangabandhu T20 Cup: Dhaka elected to field in 1st match

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 01:38 PM, 24 November 2020   Updated: 01:48 PM, 24 November 2020



Beximco Dhaka have won the toss and decided to field first against Minister Group Rajshahi in the first match of the Bangabandhu T20 Cup tournament at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital on Tuesday.

The match started at 1:30 pm and broadcasted live by T-Sports and Bangladesh Television.

Many think that Mushfiqur’s Dhaka is a little behind Rajshahi. The reason - Dhaka has no experienced batsmen except Naim Sheikh and Sabbir Rahman who are capable of winning matches on the big stage. 

Young Tanjid Hasan Tamim will start the innings with Naim. After that two youngsters – Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi and Rabiul Islam Robi will come to bat. Akbar Ali and Pinak Ghosh will be seen with Mushfiqur in the middle-order. Shahadat Hossain Dipu can be Sabbir Rahman’s partner in the lower order.

Even there is no big star in the bowling department of Dhaka except Rubel Hossain and Nayeem Hasan. Rubel will be accompanied by Abu Hider Rony, Muktar Ali and Mehedi Hasan Rana in the pace department. Nasum Ahmed will be with Nayeem in the spin.

Like Mushfiqur’s Dhaka, Rajshahi is also full of young stars except for Mohammad Ashraful, Farhad Reza, Roni Talukder, Fazle Rabbi and Arafat Sunny. However, in T20 cricket, one over can change the course of a match. The Rajshahi captain is confident for a winning start.