Bangabandhu BPL players draft starts...

Dhaka, Friday   27 November 2020

Bangabandhu BPL players draft starts

 Sports Desk

 Published: 07:05 PM, 17 November 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

The draft of the seventh edition of the Bangladesh Premier League 'Bangabandhu BPL' has begun at the Radisson Blue Water Garden Hotel in the capital. Although the draft is scheduled to start at 6pm, the players' draft has begun around 6.30 pm. The seven teams participating in the tournament will team up with their favorite players.

The names of the teams participating in the Exceptional BPL have been changed also. Such as the Jamuna Bank Dhaka Platoon, Premier Bank Khulna Tigers, Rajshahi Royals, Rangpur Rangers, Sylhet Thunder, Cumilla Warriors and Chattagram Challengers.

A total of 181 domestic and 439 foreign cricketers have been drafted. Domestic cricketers have been divided into 6 categories in where the players in the 'A-Plus' category will get a maximum tk for about 50 lakhs.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Mahmudullah Riyad are in this category. This is the first time, BPL is going to be held without Shakib Al Hasan who likely to be at this category if he not be forbidden.

The players in the 'A' category will get 25 lakhs tk in where Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Mithun, Mehedi Hasan Miraz,   Taijul Islam and  Mominul Haque are enlisted in that category.

The players in the 'B' category will get 18 lakhs in where 24 cricketers are kept in this category.  Notable cricketers on the list are Sabbir Rahman, Afif Hossain, Anamul Haque, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan.

The money for the players in the 'C' category has been fixed at tk 12 lakhs in which the 41 players are kept. Nayeem Sheikh, a young talent, is on the list. Former Bangladesh team captain Mohammad Ashraful, former Bangladesh star Shahriar Nafees are in this category.   

The players in the 'D' category will get 8 lakhs and the players in the 'E' category will get 5 lakhs. 59 and 44 cricketers have been on this list of ‘D’ and ‘E’ category.

Five categories have been made for foreign cricketers. The price of 11 cricketers in the highest category 'A Plus' has been estimated at $ 1 lakh. The list includes Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Nabi, Shoaib Malik, Rilee Rossouw, Gayle and Dwayne Smith. Cricketers of the 'A' category have been priced at $ 70,000. In addition, the B-Class cricketers have been set at $ 50,000, the C-Class Cricketer's $ 30,000 and the 'D' Category Cricketers $ 20,000.  

The highest number of foreign cricketers’ are from England on the list with 95 cricketers. The second-highest number of cricketers is from Pakistan to about 89 cricketers where three cricketers have been selected from India.