BNP’s Zahidur Rahman takes oath...

Dhaka, Thursday   09 July 2020

Beximco LPG Gas

BNP’s Zahidur Rahman takes oath

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:45 PM, 25 April 2019   Updated: 01:41 PM, 25 April 2019

File Photo

File Photo

Zahidur Rahman, elected from Thakurgaon-3 on a BNP ticket in the December 30th election, has taken his oath as a member of the parliament on Thursday. 

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered his oath at Jatiya Sangsad this noon. 

In the December 30 national elections, BNP led Jatiya Oikyafront got eight seats. Of the total, Gonoforum, a component in the Jatiya Oikyafront, got two seats while BNP got six seats.

However, alleging widespread irregularities and vote rigging, the Jatiya Oikyafront rejected the result of the polls, immediately after the elections. They have been demanding for holding a fresh national election. 

Rejecting the result of the polls, BNP has been saying that its six MPs-elect will not take oath as lawmakers in the 11th national parliament.

However, the two Gonoforum MPs have already taken oath ignoring the party’s decision. For which, Gonoforum has expelled Sultan Mohammad Monsur elected from Moulvibazar-2 from the party.

The party also said they would take action against Mokabbir Khan, who was elected from Sylhet-2.