Arvind Kejriwal takes oath

Dhaka, Thursday   02 April 2020


Arvind Kejriwal takes oath

 International Desk

 Published: 08:46 PM, 16 February 2020  



Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal and his six ministers took oath at Ramlila Maidan, outside Delhi's iconic Red Fort, that was attended by a huge crowd. Kejriwal's key ministers -- Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam - will be part of his new cabinet.

The Leader has sworn in as the Delhi Chief Minister for the third time drawn at Ramlila Maidan at 10am local time on Sunday. The Aam Aadmi Party won 62 of the 70 seats in the elections.

Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal read the oath to him.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seven BJP MPs, and eight newly elected MLAs were invited to the oath-taking ceremony. However, Modi did not attend the event as he went to Varanasi to inaugurate multiple projects.

About 50 school teachers, doctors, top graders, auto drivers, toilets cleaners were present on the occasion. On the stage, these people are shown as the creators of Delhi along with Arvind Kejriwal and others. Earlier, advertising on the front page of the newspaper, Arvind Kejriwal himself urged the people of the city to attend the oath.

Dedicating his victory to the people, Mr Kejriwal, in his address, said, "Elections are over now. No matter who you voted for, you are part of my family. Party affiliations never stopped me from working for anyone". Delhi has re-elected Mr Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party with 62 seats - a near repeat of its 2015 tally of 67 seats -- at the end of one of the most polarising campaigns in the backdrop of the anti-CAA (Citizenship Amendment Act) protests.