Alexa All banks in capital to be closed tomorrow 

Dhaka, Sunday   23 February 2020


All banks in capital to be closed tomorrow 

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:55 PM, 27 February 2019   Updated: 12:56 PM, 27 February 2019

File Photo

File Photo

The banking activities will be closed on Thursday in two city corporation areas of Dhaka.

The decision has been taken for the fair environment of the by-polls of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Mayor post and general polls for the councilor post in the extended ward of Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC). 

However, the banks in the concerned area are also closed for the polls and Union Parishad polls those out of Dhaka. But outside of these, Bangladesh Bank and commercial banks will be opened in all areas. 

On this day the head office of Bangladesh Bank, Motijheel and Sadarghat offices, Bangladesh Bank Training Academy will be closed. Among the 58 banks operating in the country, the head office of all the banks except Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank that is located in Dhaka will also be closed. 

Besides, the banks that are situated in the Barguna’s Amtoli, Kaliganj and Patuakhali municipalities of Jhenaidah will be closed.  

Outside of these, the bank branch of three unions of Biral of Dinajpur, two from Chattogram’s Fatikchhari, two from Mymensingh’s Nandail, Faridpur’s Chandpur and Madhukhali’s Nawapara, Kachikata of Bhedarganj in Shariatpur, Gulimpur Union Parishad area of Barura of Cumilla will also be closed. 

Although Bangladesh Bank and the head office of the banks will be closed, the Bangladesh Bank's Chattogram, Khulna, Sylhet, Rajshahi, Barishal, Rangpur, Bogura and Mymensingh offices will be opened.