All CSA board members step down...

Dhaka, Thursday   26 November 2020

All CSA board members step down

 Sports Desk

 Published: 05:22 PM, 26 October 2020  

All CSA board members step down

All CSA board members step down

All members of the South African Cricket Board (CSA) have resigned together. Six directors of the board resigned on Sunday while the remaining 10 members of the board resigned together on Monday morning.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has confirmed the resignation of all board members on its official Twitter.

In a statement, the CSA said: "After the member's council had deliberated and resolved that in order to best serve the interest of cricket in South Africa, the entire board should resign - which they did. All independent and non-independent directors have now resigned."

The members of the South African Cricket's top decision-making body, the Council, asked the entire board to step down last Friday. Following that call, all present board members stepped down from their posts.

The South African Cricket Board was asked to set up a new interim steering committee following the directives of the country's sports federation and the Olympic Committee. However, Cricket South Africa did not agree to break the old committee.

That is why the Olympic Committee handed over the whole matter to South African Sports Minister Nathi Mthethwa. The sports minister then set a deadline of Tuesday to give Cricket South Africa a valid reason for disobeying the National Sports and Recreation Act.

After that, 16 officers of the board resigned from their post in two days. Now there is no obstacle in forming an interim committee.  

Meanwhile, Sports Minister Nathi Mthethwa has directed that an interim committee be constituted by Tuesday to inform him about future plans. The committee has been directed to have at least one former cricketer. 

Former acting president Beresford Williams led the way out of the organization on Sunday. He was followed by Angelo Carolissen, Donovan May, Tebogo Siko, John Mogodi, and Dheven Dharmalingham. Only Zola Thamae, Marius Schoeman, Eugenia Kula-Ameyaw, and Vuyokazi Memani-Sedile were left.