Agakhan, Habibur, Abul Hashem get AL tickets for 3 seats...

Dhaka, Wednesday   28 July 2021

Agakhan, Habibur, Abul Hashem get AL tickets for by-polls of 3 seats

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 01:16 PM, 12 June 2021   Updated: 02:39 PM, 12 June 2021

Logo of Bangladesh Awami League; File Photo

Logo of Bangladesh Awami League; File Photo

The ruling Awami League has finalized its candidates for the by-elections of Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5 and Sylhet-3 constituencies. 

The final candidates are – Agakhan Mintu for Dhaka-14, Habibur Rahman for Sylhet-3 and Abul Hashem Khan and Abul Hashem Khan for Cumilla-5.

Their candidature was selected at a meeting of the Awami League’s (AL) Parliamentary Nomination Board at Ganabhaban in the capital at 11 am on Saturday. Awami League Parliamentary Nomination Board President Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5 and Sylhet-3 constituencies became vacant after the death of Awami League MP Aslamul Haque, Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru and Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury.

Later, nomination forms for these three constituencies were distributed and submitted at Awami League President Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi office in the capital from June 4 to 10.

A total of 94 people has collected party nomination forms to take charge of the boat’s three seats. Of these, 34 for Dhaka-14, 35 for Cumilla-5 and 25 people collected nomination forms for Sylhet-3.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the by-elections of the three vacant seats is June 15. The last day for the withdrawal of nomination papers on June 13 after the scrutinization process on June 17.