Aga Khan elected as ‘unopposed’ MP of Dhaka-14 seat...

Dhaka, Monday   02 August 2021

Aga Khan elected as ‘unopposed’ MP of Dhaka-14 seat

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 02:31 PM, 25 June 2021   Updated: 06:56 PM, 25 June 2021

Aga Khan Mintu; File Photo

Aga Khan Mintu; File Photo

Aga Khan Mintu, a candidate of ruling Awami League for the Dhaka-14 constituency, has elected an MP.  

He was declared uncontested on Friday as three candidates withdrew their nominations for the seat. 

According to a public circular signed by Regional Election Officer Mahfuza Akter, Aga Khan Mintu, a candidate for the Dhaka-14 vacant seat in the Jatiya Sangsad, was declared uncontested as an MP as per the provisions of Article 19 of the Representation of the People Order, 1972.

Earlier on June 23, the Assistant Returning Officer Md. Shahjalal told reporters that Aga Khan was being elected unopposed as  Mostaqur Rahman of the Jatiya Party, KYM Kamrul Islam of the BNF and Abu Hanif of JSD had withdrawn their nominations.

Voting for this seat was scheduled for July 28. The last day to submit nomination papers was June 15. The last day for withdrawal of nomination papers was June 23. The seat became vacant on the death of Awami League MP Aslamul Haque. 

Aga Khan Mintu was the commissioner of the Gabtali-Mirpur area in 1994 during Md. Hanif’s tenure as the first mayor of undivided Dhaka. He was also the vice-president of the Greater Mirpur Thana Awami League. Aga Khan is currently the president of Shah Ali Thana Awami League.