Alexa Abahani’s winning streak continues

Dhaka, Tuesday   16 July 2019

Abahani’s winning streak continues

 Sports Desk

 Published: 10:16 PM, 19 March 2019   Updated: 10:16 PM, 19 March 2019

File Photo

File Photo

Abahani Limited continued their fine start to the Walton Dhaka Premier Division League 2018-19 with another emphatic victory in the round 4 against Shinepukur Sporting Club. Prime Bank Cricket Club and Legends of Rupganj have won the other two matches of the day respectively.

Chasing Shinepukur’s 204, Abahani reached the target in 48.3 overs with 5 wickets in hand thanks to Wasim Jaffer’s match-winning knock of 76. Nazmul Hossain Shanto chipped in with 42 while Soymya Sarkar contributed 33 in his first match of the season.

At SBNCS, Legends of Rupganj won a thriller against Mohammedan Sporting club. Rupganj chased down the target of 296 in the last over with 4 wickets to spare thanks to Naeem Islam’s 85.

Pirme Bank Cricket Club have secured their third win with a 29-run victory over SK. Jamal in a rain-affected encounter at BKSP-3. Batting first, Prime Bank posted a mammoth total of 344 for 6 thanks to centuries for Easwaran and Anamul Haque. In reply, Sk. Jamal scored 206 for 4 in 37.1 overs before the rain stopped the play. Prime Bank then declared winner by 29 runs in DLS method.

Mohammedan Sporting Club vs Legends of Rupganj at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka

Mohammedan : 295/7 in 50 overs (Abdul Majid 107, Nadif 64, raqibul 29; Shahid 3/70, R Dhawan 1/48, Muktar 1/67)

Rupganj: 296/6 in 49.2 overs (Naeem Islam 85, Mominul 55, Dhawan 51; Shafiul 2/65, Babu 1/60)

Abahani Limited beat Shinepukur Cricket Club by 5 wickets at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Narayanganj.

Shinepukur: 203/9 in 50 overs (Afif 48, Towhid 39, Shohrawordi 24*; Mosaddek 3/41, Rubel 2/28, Nazmul 2/41)

Abahani: 206/5 in 48.3 overs (W Jaffer 76, Shanto 42, Soumya 33; Shoriful 3/42, Shuvagata 1/27)

Prime Bank Cricket Club beat Lt. Sk. Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd by 29 runs in D/L method at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan, Ground-3, Savar.

Prime Bank: 344/6 in 50 overs (Easwaran 133, Anamul 101, Ariful 67*; Tanbir 2/27, Taijul 1/57, Shahidul 1/69)

Sk. Jamal: 206/4 in 37.1 overs (Nasir 76, Nurul 54*, Imtiaz 26; Nahidul 2/51, Monir 1/23, Razzak 1/52)