AL parliamentary board meets to decide candidates for 3 seats...

Dhaka, Saturday   31 July 2021

AL parliamentary board meets to decide candidates for by-polls of 3 seats

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 12:15 PM, 12 June 2021   Updated: 12:30 PM, 12 June 2021

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

A parliamentary board has sat at the official residence of the Awami League President today to decide the candidates for the by-elections of Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5, Sylhet-3 constituencies. 

A press release signed by Awami League (AL) Office Secretary Barrister Biplob Barua said a meeting of the Awami League’s Parliamentary Nomination Board will be held at 11 am on Saturday (June 11) at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganabhaban. Awami League Parliamentary Nomination Board President Sheikh Hasina will preside over it.

Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5 and Sylhet-3 constituencies became vacant after the death of Awami League MP Aslamul Haque, Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru and Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury.

Later, nomination forms for these three constituencies were distributed and submitted at Awami League President Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi office in the capital from June 4 to 10.

A total of 94 people has collected party nomination forms to take charge of the boat’s three seats. Of these, 34 for Dhaka-14, 35 for Cumilla-5 and 25 people collected nomination forms for Sylhet-3.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the by-elections of the three vacant seats is June 15. The last day for the withdrawal of nomination papers on June 13 after the scrutinization process on June 17.