Exim Bank Ltd.
Dhaka, Thursday 24 Jan, 2019

AL-led grand alliance sweeps 6 seats in Rangpur

Rangpur Correspondent Daily-Bangladesh.com
Photo DailyBangladesh

The Awami League (AL-led grand alliance) candidates elected unofficially in all the six constituencies of the district with huge margins in the 11th general election held on Sunday.

Returning Officer and Deputy Commissioner of Rangpur Enamul Habib announced the unofficial results at his conference room on Sunday night.

AL candidates won in four constituencies out of six while Jatiya Party (JP) candidates bagged two seats in the district.

In Rangpur-1, JP candidate Mashiur Rahman Ranga bagged 1,98,914 votes while his nearest rival candidate of Jatiya Oikyafront Rahamatullah got 19,493 votes.

In Rangpur-2, AL candidate Abul Kalam Md Ahsanul Haque Chowdhury won bagging 1,18,368 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Mohammad Ali Sarker got 53,350 votes.

Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad won in Rangpur-3 constituency securing 1,42,926 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Rita Rahman bagged 53,089 votes.

AL candidate Tipu Munshi won in Rangpur-4 constancy bagging 1,99,973 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Emdadul Haque Bharsha got 1,04,077 votes.

In Rangpur-5, AL candidate HN Ashiqur Rahman won securing 2,44,758 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Shah Solaiman Fakir got 64,147 votes.

AL candidate and Jatiya Sangshad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury won in Rangpur-6 constituency bagging 2,34,426 votes while her nearest rival BNP candidate Saiful Islam secured 24,053 votes.


More Read