AL leaders in India at invitation of BJP...

Dhaka, Wednesday   04 August 2021

AL leaders in India at invitation of BJP

 Staff Correspondent Daily-Bangladesh

 Published: 12:41 PM, 22 April 2018  

Daily Bangladesh

Daily Bangladesh

A delegation of the ruling Awami League left Dhaka for New Delhi on Sunday at the invitation of the Indian ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

A flight carrying the delegation departed the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport for India at 10:00 am.

The 19-member delegation is led by Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader.

During the three-day visit, from 22nd to 24th April, the delegation will meet BJP`s top leaders in New Delhi, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, said a party press release on Saturday.

The delegation will also meet BJP President Amit Shah. BJP General Secretary Ram Madhav will host dinner for the AL delegation members.

Bangladesh High Commissioner to India Syed Muazzem Ali will also host a dinner party for the Awami League leaders on Sunday.

The delegation members will also pay respect to Memorials to Mahatma Gandhi.

The visit is viewed as an important one as the two countries are heading towards their next national elections, said a political source. 

Obaidul Quader briefed the media at a press conference at the party President Sheikh Hasina`s Dhanmondi political office about the visit on Saturday. He said that we are going there to strengthen and develop the relation of two countries.

Awami League Joint General Secretary Mahbub Ul Alam Hanif said the visit increase the neighbouring country`s political parties relations.

The other members of the delegation are- Awami League leaders Pijush Kanti Bhattacharya, Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Ahmad Hossain, Misbah Uddin Siraj, AFM  Bahauddin Nasim, AKM Enamul Haque Shamim, Mohibul Hassan Chowdhoury Nowfel, Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, Dr Shammi Ahmed, Mrinal Kanti Das, Abdus Sobur, Dr Rokeya Sultana, Sujit Roynandi, Aminul Islam Amin and Golam Kabir Rabbani Chinu.

After the tour, the delegation will return home on Tuesday afternoon.