AL has no candidate in 39 constituencies, BNP in 1

Dhaka, Saturday   25 May 2019

AL has no candidate in 39 constituencies, BNP in 10

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 09:36 AM, 4 December 2018   Updated: 01:35 PM, 4 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

There is no Awami League candidate in 39 constituencies while BNP has no valid candidate in 10 parliamentary seats out of total 300 across the country after the scrutiny of nomination papers by the returning officers.

Of the constituencies, the ruling party did not field any candidate in 36 while BNP in five.

The 10 constituencies having no BNP contestant are Tangail-8, Moulvibazar-2, Cumilla-7, Laxmipur-4, Chattogram-14, Sunamganj-3, Manikganj-2, Jamalpur-4, Pabna-1 and Bogura-7.

The 39 constituencies having no AL candidate include Thakurgaon-3, Nilphamari-3 and 4, Lalmonirhat-3, Rangpur-1 and 3, Kurigram-2 and 4, Gaibandha-1, Bogura-2, 3, 4, 6 and 7, Rajshahi-2, Kushtia-2, Satkhira-1, Barishal-3 and 6, Pirojpur-2 and 3, Mymensingh-4 and 8, Kishoreganj-3, Munshiganj-1, Dhaka-4, 6 and 8, Narayanganj-3 and 5, Sunamganj-4, Sylhet-2, Moulvibazar-2, Brahmanbaria-2, Feni-1 and 3, Lakshmipur-2, Chattogram-2 and 5.

A total of 696 BNP runners submitted nomination papers in 295 constituencies and 281 AL aspirants in 264 constituencies within the deadline that expired on November 28. 

During Sunday’s scrutiny, nomination papers of all BNP aspirants in five constituencies - Sunamganj-3, Manikganj-2, Jamalpur-4, Pabna-1 and Bagura-7 - were cancelled while that of AL candidates in three constituencies - Kurigram-4, Satkhira-1 and Narayanganj-3 - were rejected.

On Sunday, the returning officers cancelled total 786 nomination papers out of total 3,065 submitted by contestants in 300 constituencies to contest the 11th parliamentary elections slated for December 30. 

Of the cancelled nomination papers, 141 were of BNP aspirants while three of AL contestants.

Now, the number of BNP’s valid candidates came down to 555 in 290 constituencies while that of AL to 278 in 261 constituencies, according to data compiled by the Election Commission.

The nomination papers of 38 HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party were cancelled. So, the number of Jatiya Party’s valid candidates stood at 195.