AL going to form government for 3rd consecutive time

Dhaka, Monday   24 June 2019

AL going to form government for 3rd consecutive time

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 12:04 AM, 31 December 2018   Updated: 05:56 AM, 31 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

The Awami League (AL), led by Sheikh Hasina that has been ruling for two consecutive terms, is going to form the government again. Awami League on the path of the absolute majority in the 11th parliamentary elections.

In the latest reports, the final results of the 195 seats were declared. In the meantime, the Awami League won 164 seats with Boat symbol. Jatiya Oikyafront got 4 seats, the Grand Alliance got 20 seats, and the others got 7 seats.  

In addition to registered 39 parties and independent candidates, more than 1,800 more candidates took part in the election fight.

Election Commission secretariat secretary Helaluddin Ahmed said, “The voting was done in peaceful and festive surroundings throughout the country by the participation of voters.”

He said that among 40,183 polling centers across the country, the voting of 22 centers has been postponed due to disturbances and irregularities. The voting of remaining centers held peacefully with the participation of voters.  

“There have been some violent incidents across the country. The Commission has come to the attention of these incidents and instructed law enforcement agencies to investigate these incidents,” said Helaluddin Ahmed.   

The eleventh parliamentary election schedule was announced on November 8. Then it was once again re-scheduled. As a result, the voting date is transferred to December 23 to December 30.  

Though 39 political parties took part in the competition, the competition was mainly in the Awami League (Boat) and BNP (Paddy Sheath). The Awami League is leading the Grand Alliance with the 14-party alliance. And BNP has 20 teams led by Kamal Hossain as the main partner of the Jatiya Oikyafront.

Due to the death of Gaibandha-3 nominated candidate, elections in 299 out of 300 seats were held.

For the first time, EVMs are being held in six seats. EVMs held in Dhaka-6, Dhaka-13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2, and Satkhira-2 seats.

In the 10th parliamentary elections on January 5, 2014, the Awami League was elected unitedly in 234 seats. On the other hand, Ershad’s Jatiya Party (JaPa) became the opposition party by winning in 34 seats. In those elections, the others get 32 seats. Awami League formed the government for the second time after that.

In 2008, the Awami League-led Grand Alliance formed the government with absolute majority. After that, Awami League President Sheikh Hasina had become the Prime Minister and formed the government. In that election, the Grand Alliance got 230 seats and BNP-led 20 parties got 30 seats. And the others got 13 seats.