9 persons, one institution to get Independence Award

Dhaka, Friday   10 April 2020


9 persons, one institution to get Independence Award

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 09:22 PM, 20 February 2020  

File Photo

File Photo

9 prominent individuals and an institution is getting the Independence Award 2020. The award will be given in recognition of the glorious and accomplished contribution at the national level. 

A list of nominees for the Independence Award was published in a press release on Thursday.

Those who are getting the award in Independence and Liberation War category — 

Golam Dastagir Gazi (Bir Protik), late commander Abdul Rauf, late Md. Anwar Pasha and Azizur Rahman. 

In Medical Science — Prof. Dr. Md. Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury, Prof. Dr. AKMA Muktadir.

In Literature — SM Rois Uddin Ahammad (Freedom Fighter)

In Culture —  Kalipad Das and Ferdousi Majumdar. 

In Education — Bharateswari Homes. 

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Independence Award 2020 at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on March 25, the press release said.

It is the highest state award in the country. The government has been awarding this award every year since 1977 on the occasion of Independence Day March 26.