8 personalities, one organization receive Independence Award...

Dhaka, Monday   17 May 2021

8 personalities, one organization receive Independence Award

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 01:05 PM, 29 October 2020   Updated: 03:49 PM, 29 October 2020

File Photo

File Photo

Eight distinguished personalities and an organization have received this year’s Independence Award (Swadhinata Purashkar 2020).

The medals were handed over to the awardees at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on Thursday.

Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque handed over the Independence Award 2020 to the recipients in recognition of their glorious and outstanding contribution to their respective fields.

The Prime Minister attended the award-giving ceremony virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban in the capital.

The program was broadcasted live on Bangladesh Television (BTV), Bangladesh Betar and various satellite television and radio channels.

The recipients are — Jute and Textiles Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, MP, and Azizur Rahman for Independence and Liberation War, one of the key Liberation War organizers Commander Abdur Rouf (posthumous), martyred intellectual Md Anwar Pasha (posthumous), Professor Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Prof Dr AKMA Muktadir for medical science, Kalipada Das and actress Ferdousi Mazumdar for culture and Bharateswari Homes, a boarding school for girls in Tangail, for education.

Of the recipients — Azizur Rahman had recently died of Covid-19.

It is to be noted that the government has nominated 9 eminent persons and one organization for the Independence Award 2020 in recognition of their ‘glorious and meritorious’ contribution at the national level. It is the highest state civilian award in the country. The government has been giving this award every year since 1977 on the occasion of Independence Day March 26.