Alexa 8 airports in India shut amid tension with Pakistan

Dhaka, Monday   17 February 2020


8 airports in India shut amid tension with Pakistan

 International Desk

 Published: 03:07 PM, 27 February 2019  



Eight airports over India's three northern states of Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab and Himachal Pradesh have been shut down amid an escalation of tension with Pakistan. 

The list includes airports in Amritsar, Jammu, Srinagar and Leh, Kullu-Manali, Kangra, Shimla and Pathankot.

While the official notice mentions a three-month shutdown, sources said it is the outer limit and depending on the situation on the ground, it can be revoked earlier. 

Sources said the entire airspace north of Delhi has to be vacated. The area has been on high alert amid warnings of retaliation after India's fighter jets crossed the Line of Control and destroyed a vast terror camp within Pakistan in a pre-dawn strike on Tuesday. 

An Indian Air Force chopper crashed in Jammu and Kashmir's Budgam this morning, in the backdrop of heavy shelling and firing from across the border.  Two bodies have been found, said the police. 

Pakistan has claimed it had shot down two jets of the Indian Air Force - the IAF has denied the claim, saying all pilots are accounted for. 

There have been reports of Pakistani fighter jets violating Indian air space in Jammu and Kashmir's Poonch and Rajouri sectors. - NDTV