5th phase polls to 31 municipalities Sunday...

Dhaka, Wednesday   21 April 2021

5th phase polls to 31 municipalities Sunday

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 05:52 PM, 26 February 2021   Updated: 06:39 PM, 26 February 2021

File Photo

File Photo

All kinds of preparation have been taken to hold the fifth phase polls to 31 municipalities across the country on Sunday in a peaceful manner.

The voting will start at 8 am and continue till 4 pm without any break while the voting will be held using electronic voting machine (EVM) in all municipalities. 

The campaign for these municipal elections will end at midnight on Friday. Thus, the mayoral-councilor candidates are spending their time busy with last minute public relations.  

Meanwhile, the BNP backed and many independent candidates have expressed concern over fair voting at the last minute, however, strong measures have been taken to keep the voting environment peaceful in the constituencies. 

Earlier in 19 January, Election Commission Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the election schedule.

According to the schedule, the last date for submitting nomination papers is February 2. The returning officers will scrutinise nomination papers on February 4, and the last date for withdrawal of candidacy is February 11.

There are a total of 329 municipalities in the country. The elections to 24 municipalities was held in the first phase on December 28 last year, the elections to 61 municipalities was held in the second phase on January 16, the elections to 64 municipalities on 30 January in third phase while the elections to 56 municipalities on February 14 in the fourth phase. 

The municipalities where the fifth phase of elections will be conducted are : Rangunia, Raozan, Mirsarai and Bariarhat of Chattogram, Raipur of Laxmipur, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Habiganj municipality, Dewanganj, Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar of Jamalpur district, Charghat and Durgapur of Rajshahi, Bagura Sadar, Singair of Manikganj, Matlab and Shaharasti of Chandpur, Keshabpur and Jashore Sadar of Jashore district, Shibchar and Madaripur Sadar of Madaripur, Haragach of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenaidah, Joypurhat Sadar of Joypurhat, Nandail of Mymensingh, Bhola Sadar of Bhola district and Kaliganj of Gazipur.