Alexa 5 to die for killing 24 in Laldighi

Dhaka, Monday   17 February 2020


5 to die for killing 24 in Laldighi

 Chattogram Correspondent

 Published: 03:32 PM, 20 January 2020   Updated: 11:09 PM, 20 January 2020

File Photo

File Photo

A Chattogram court on Monday has sentenced five people to death for killing 24 people at Laldighi, Chattogram. Besides, one accused has also been sentenced to 10 years imprisonment.   

Md Ismail Hossain, acting judge of Chattogram District and Sessions Judge court gave the verdict this afternoon.

Among the convicts- four are constables and one SI. The court has acquitted three persons in the case.

Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police (prosecution) Kamruzzaman Roy confirmed the matter. 

Earlier, the court on Sunday dismissed the bail pettition of the four accused and ordered them to send jail after presenting arguments before the case.

They are - the then constable of the Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP) Mostafizur Rahman, Pradeep Barua, Shah Md. Abdullah and Mumtaz Uddin.

The other accused in the case is JC Mandal, who is the former patrol inspector of Chattogram Kotwali area, is absconding.

Earlier, Police opened fire at a procession of the then Awami League-led alliance that killed at least 24 people in the port city on January 24, 1988 during the Ershad regime.

On March 5, 1992, lawer Shahidul Huda filed a case against the plaintiff. After the formation of the Awami League government in 1996, the case reopened. The court ordered the CID to look into the case. The CID filed a probe report on January 12, 1997, in the court.

On that day, Hasan Murad, Mohiuddin Shamim, Swapan Kumar Biswas, Athlebert Gomez Kishore, Swapan Chowdhury, Ajit Sarkar, Ramesh Vaidya, Badrul Alam, DK Chowdhury, Sajjad Hossain, Abdul Mannan, Sabuj Hossain, Kamal Das Hossain, BKH Uddin, Chand Mia, Samar Dutta, Hashem Mia, Md. Kasem, Palash Dutta, Abdul Quddus, Govinda Das and Shahadat Hossain were killed.