Dhaka, Friday   19 April 2019

National Election

319 aspirants challenge ROs’ decisions

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 08:11 PM, 4 December 2018   Updated: 08:15 PM, 4 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

A total of 319 petitions have so far been filed with the Election Commission challenging the decisions of the returning officers over the rejection and acceptance of nomination papers submitted by aspirants to contest the next national election.

Of them, 235 petitions were submitted on Tuesday while 84 on Monday, said the Election Commission.

Former Jatiya Party Secretary General ABM Ruhul Amin Hawlader (Patuakhali-1), Jatiya Party aspirant film actor Sohel Rana (Barishal-2), BNP runners Ruhul Quddus Talukder Dulu (Natore-2), Sabira Sultana (Jashore-2), Mir Nasir's son Barrister Mir Mohammad Helaluddin (Chattogram-5) and Dr AZM Zahid Hossain (Sherpur-3), independent aspirant Ganajagaran Mancha spokesperson Imran H Sarkar (Kurigram-4) were among those submitted petitions on the second day.

However, no petition from jailed BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia has so far been filed challenging the rejection of her nomination papers submitted to contest the election from Bogura-6 and 7, and Feni-1 constituencies.

The Election Commission on Tuesday set up eight booths on its secretariat’s premises for receiving petitions from the aggrieved aspirants.

On Monday, it started receiving appeals at its reception room. The EC will also receive appeals on Wednesday.

The Commission will dispose of the petitions on December 6-8 following hearings. The quasi-judicial body, EC, has already set up the hearing rooms at the Nirbachan Bhaban.

Even if anyone is aggrieved with the EC’s decision in this regard, the person can go to the High Court to seek redress.

The returning officers on Sunday accepted a total of 2,279 nomination papers and turned down 786 others submitted in the country's 300 constituencies to contest the 11th national election.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is December 9 and the electoral symbols will be distributed among the contesting candidates on December 10.

The election campaign can be conducted after the allocation of the symbols.