26th founding anniv of Bangladesh Coast Guard today...

Dhaka, Monday   01 March 2021

26th founding anniv of Bangladesh Coast Guard today

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 11:06 AM, 14 February 2021   Updated: 03:50 PM, 14 February 2021

File Photo

File Photo

The Bangladesh Coast Guard (BCG) has been celebrating its 26th founding anniversary on Sunday amid festivity.  

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal will attend a programme on the occasion as the chief guest. Later, the Home Minister will award medals to 40 officials of the force. 

A press release signed by the Coast Guard media officer Lieutenant Commander Amirul Haque came up with the information. 

According to the release, the 26th founding anniversary of the Coast Guard is going to be celebrated at the force’s headquarter in the capital’s Agargaon today on the golden jubilee of independence. This year, 40 officials of the force will be awarded in recognition of their professional excellence and courageous roles during anti-crime operations last year. The awards are – Bangladesh Coast Guard Medal and Bangladesh Coast Guard Medal (Service) and President Coast Guard Medal and President Coast Guard Medal (Service). 

Director-General of Bangladesh Coast Guard Rear Admiral M Ashraful Haque will be awarded the Bangladesh Coast Guard Medal this year in recognition of his fearless contribution, heroism and courageous work.

Apart from the Director-General of Bangladesh Coast Guard, those who will receive Bangladesh Coast Guard Award are - Capt SM Moin Uddin, Lt Commander M Sajjad Hossain, Lt Commander Imtiaz Alam, Lt Commander Shah Zia Rahman, Lt Commander M Mehedi Hasan, Md Jahangir Alam, Mohammad Ali, Mahmud Sharif and M Abu Hanif.

Bangladesh Coast Guard (Service) Award recipients are - Rear Admiral M Shahjahan, Capt M Nurul Islam Sharif, Commander SM Anwarul Karim, Surgeon Lt Commander Fatema Tuj Johra, Md Yaqub Ali, Md Mamun Mia, Md Monaim Hossain, Md Saifur Rahman, Mamun-ur-Rashid and Md Shahinul Haque.

President Coast Guard Award recipients are  - Capt SM Sharif-ul Islam, Commander Md Nizam Uddin Sardar, Lt Commander M Firoz Khan, Lt Commander M Bayezid, M Abdur Razzak, Md Rezaul Karim, M Sohrab Hossain, M Yadul Islam, Md Sumon Mia and Md Ashiq Iqbal Shakil.

President Coast Guard (Service) Award medalists are - Commander M Mahfuzur Rahman, Commander M Ashraful Alam, Commander M Lokman Hakim, Lt Commander Mostafa Tariq Haider, Honorary Sub-Lieutenant Mohammad Sekil, M Abdus Salam Mia, M Saiful Islam, Yusuf Al Mamun, Md Atiqul Bari and Md Yakub Monna. 

Established in 1995, the Bangladesh Coast Guard continues to make significant contributions to the security of the country’s vast seas and coastal areas. Besides, Bangladesh Coast Guard becomes a trusted symbol of security and confidence among the people by ensuring law and order in the country’s maritime and coastal areas, protecting the lives and property of the people, curbing smuggling-drug-human trafficking as well as providing relief and assistance in various natural disasters.