2 woman win Nobel Prize for developing genome editing method...

Dhaka, Thursday   26 November 2020

2 woman win Nobel Prize for developing genome editing method

 International Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 03:53 PM, 7 October 2020   Updated: 05:37 PM, 7 October 2020

Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna

Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020 has been awarded to French scientist Emmanuelle Charpentier and American Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of a method for genome editing.” 

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, Sweden, announced their name on Wednesday.

“There is enormous power in this genetic tool, which affects us all,” said Claes Gustafsson, chair of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry. “It has not only revolutionized basic science, but also resulted in innovative crops and will lead to ground-breaking new medical treatments.” 

Gustafsson said that as a result, any genome can now be edited “to fix genetic damage.”

Gustafsson cautioned that the “enormous power of this technology means we have to use it with great care” but that it “is equally clear that this is a technology, a method that will provide humankind with great opportunities.”

The prestigious award comes with a gold medal and prize money of 10 million krona (more than $1.1 million), courtesy of a bequest left more than a century ago by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. The amount was increased recently to adjust for inflation.

Born in 1964 in Washington, DC, USA, Jennifer A. Doudna is a Professor at University of California, Berkeley and Investigator at HHMI NEWS. Besides, Emmanuelle Charpentier was born in 1968 in Juvisy-Sur-Orge, France. She is Director of the Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens, Berlin, Germany.

Previously, the prize was given to 183 individuals on 111 occasions. However, the prize was not awarded on eight earlier occasions, including 1916, 1917, 1919, 1924, 1933, 1940, 1941 and 1942 because of the prevailing World I and II, for not meeting the criteria in the foundation's statutes.

The award has been received by 71 scientists from the United States of America (USA), followed by 33 from Germany and the United Kingdom (UK) each, respectively. - Huffington Post, One India