Dhaka, Wednesday   24 April 2019

‘I don’t have any info on resignation of technocrat ministers’

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 07:15 PM, 26 November 2018   Updated: 07:15 PM, 26 November 2018

File Photo

File Photo

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam said that he does not have any information about the resignation of the four technocrat ministers who resigned on the directive of the Prime Minister. 

He said, “I do not know when they will leave the cabinet.”  

A regular meeting of the cabinet was held on Monday presided over by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. After the meeting, the cabinet secretary said this in response to a query from the reporters.

Responding to another question, he said, “Yes, they are still in the cabinet meeting. They are continuing to do their work. But I will not say anything about them at this moment.”

In view of 11th parliamentary elections, the Prime Minister directed the four ministers of the government to resign in the process of reconstruction of the cabinet on November 6 after the notification issued. But there was no notification issued in this regard.

The four technocrat ministers are -- Minister of Religious Affairs Motiur Rahman, Minister of Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment Nurul Islam BSC, Minister of Science and Technology Yeafesh Osman, and Minister of Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Mustafa Jabbar. They submitted the resignation letter to the cabinet division.

When asking Shafiul Alam about his, he said, “This is not something that can be said now. It is the Prime Minister’s jurisdiction.”